Chances of Success

When trying something new you often find yourself saying words such as: I won’t, I can’t, and I don’t know how. Its easy to get discouraged if your not keeping a positive attitude at all times. Your state of mind is crucial! The worst thing you can tell yourself is “I won’t.” This is a term that refers to not even trying. If you won’t even try, then there is a 100% guarantee that you will never progress or master a skill. I won’t is just laziness. Likewise, using the phrase “I can’t” is not much better. Saying “I can’t” at least shows you tried a little bit, but not enough to understand the skill completely. I coach at a cheer gym in Cedar City, Utah and I have been able to witness this first hand. For weeks I have watched girls ages 3-14 continuously say the words, “I can’t” and over and over again they can never quite do the tricks that they are trying to master. They started to get discouraged and some would quit trying completely. One girl in particular age 14, has been trying to get a back-handspring for quite some time now.Week after week she would step up to the line with complete confidence, think about what she was going to do, and time and time again the smile would leave her face as she blurted out the words, “I just can’t do it.” And each time, I would re-explain to her that every time she says that, she pushes her goal of getting her back-handspring back more and more. One day she came to practice with a positive attitude ready to take on her biggest fear. I saw something different in her eyes this time, instead of worry and doubt, she looked determined. Just like the weeks before she stood at the line and thought about what she was going to do. I looked at her and softly said, “believe in yourself.” She swung with everything she had and before she knew it she was back on her feet! All it took was a positive attitude. Lastly, using the phrase, “I don’t know how” is not as entirely draining as the others but can still be harmful to your success. Not knowing how can always be fixed if you just simply ask for help. Once you have learned the proper way it can take hours, weeks, months, or even years to perfect it. Whether it be a stunt, tumbling pass, or anything else, perfection of these skills take time and LOTS of energy. Try to stray away from using these three phrases as much as possible and your chances for success will raise 100%!  

Leave a Reply

